I saw this almost as tall as I am (5’1″) pod and jumped for joy, literally. I am in Kansas City, it’s not everyday you find tropical dried leaves in a flea market in Kansas City, Missouri. That being said, the pod was very rough looking, it had been varnished at some point and was now peeling.

My good fortune that day as the vendor was having a 50% off sale. I skipped out of the flea market, literally, with my $6 pod.

I debated with painting a scene on the pod or just doing an ombré effect. I decided to make it more Shabby Chic decor and added a bunch of twigs.

Once it was all finished, it was time for me to take some pictures to advertise an event I was going to be attending as a vendor. And that, ladies and gentleman, is when I came up with the name Afro -Chic…

The rest, as they say, is history!

20141214-053507.jpg

20141214-053610.jpg

20141214-053644.jpg